Interview with Marianna Konti

Updated: Feb 27, 2019


Marianna Konti in perfect body position. Photo: Drepani Waterski

For those who don't know who you are, can you tell a little about where you were born, age, marital status and what you do when you are not waterskiing?

I am 46 years of age, married with four kids, I live in Poros Greece since 1994, the year I met my husband. I run a waterski business.


Do you remember your first competition? How old were you, and how did it go?

I did not compete from my early ages although I started skiing when I was 7 years old. My first competition was after I had already had my first two children at the age of 25. I think I did a couple of buoys at 49.


Who is your idol when it comes to waterskiing?

My ski idol is my husband Sotiris Kyprios and also my son Filippos Kyprios. I used to admire Andy Mapple, and as far as ladies are concerned Nicole Arthur, Natalie Hamerick etc..


Do you have a favorite waterskisite?

Our place!! PASSAGE WATER SKI / DREPANI RESORT


In which ways has your technique changed through the years?

I used to ski with arms bent and turning with the back foot. This has changed and now I just lean back, keeping weight in my front foot, keep my arms straight, chest facing the pylon, and enjoy skiing safely with good body position.


Are there any persons you would like to mention, who have made you a better waterskier?

My husband Sotiris Kyprios who has taught me everything I know since I started skiing seriously.


Your personal bests?

At a competition, I have done 2@12. On a good day, I can run 12 in practice.


Can you take us through a typical day in your life?

I drive the boat a lot, I teach lots of children to ski, I organize skiers to come ski with us from all around the world.


Can you tell us about your worst crash ever? Have you had any serious injuries?

My only serious waterski injury was when I dislocated my shoulder hitting a buoy at 14 meters.


Can you share with us the biggest moment in your waterski career?

My biggest moment was my third medal in the Europeans a few years ago.


Which ambitions do you have for the future?

I want to win a gold European medal before I stop skiing!


What do you do to stay in shape during the winter?

I ski more in the winter than in the summer. The climate is mild and the temperature is 15-18 degrees. In the summer I am so busy, I hardly have time to ski. However, when I have free time I also like to swim for half an hour, or do Pilates.


Can you tell us a little about which equipment you are using?

For many years I was skiing on D3s. Now I am on a Mapple T2. I use PKB gloves and handle and the classic D3 rubber bindings.


Which problems do most of the skiers you coach have?

Position!! They have not learned to take care of their bodies and ski in safe postures!


Can you give us three good tips for becoming a better waterskier?

Ski regularly but do not overdo it.

Ski with the best, who know how to help you improve.

Keep your body fit when you are not skiing. Strength and fitness are very important if you want to reach a high level of waterskiing.


How and where do you live?

I live in Galatas opposite of Poros island in Greece, in our beautiful Waterski Resort Drepani. My job is to run the waterski school together with my husband Sotiris Kyprios, and to manage all our on site apartments.


Finally, we would like to thank you for taking the time to answer these questions, and wish you all the best for your future waterski career!


#Drepani #Galatas #Poros #waterski

851 views
Join our Mailing List

© 2018 by waterskisites.com